Croeso i Gymdeithas Orthopedig Cymru

Welcome to the Welsh Orthopaedic Society

The Society, founded in 1987 as a surgical group, now has as its membership, all who are involved in the care of Trauma & Orthopaedic patients in Wales.

WOS Logo

A History of The Welsh Orthopaedic Society

The Secretaries’ Tale

Since its first meeting in 1987 the Welsh Orthopaedic Society has been served by five Secretaries and what better way to present this short history than through their experiences.

David Jones (1987-1995)

It’s a nice feeling to have been with an organisation since its inception and to watch it grow from a small club to a major player in the Welsh orthopaedic scene.

Wales is a land united by culture and language but divided by geography. Although the concept of a Welsh Orthopaedic Society had been around for decades the natural horizontal lines of communication with the North-west, Midlands and South of England and established traditions therefrom worked against a North/South orthopaedic alliance. Nevertheless, the organisation of the NHS in Wales is on a Welsh rather than Anglo-Welsh model and during my early years as a consultant in the 1980s, working in North Wales and Oswestry and with administrative and educational duties throughout Wales, it was apparent that these were suitable times to launch such a society. Of particular note was the groundwork to foster the idea by Dillwyn Evans (Cardiff, Figure 1), Rowland Hughes (Oswestry, (figure 2) and Robert Owen (Abergele, figure 3)

Dillwyn Evans

Fig. 1.  Dillwyn Evans

Rowland Hughes

Fig. 2. Robert Owen

Robert Owen

Fig. 3. Rowland Hughes

So, I appointed myself Secretary and organized the inaugural meeting in Oswestry in March, 1987 (Fig.4). The attendance was good, the meeting successful and highlighted by Rowland delivering a convoluted Inaugural Lecture during which he failed totally but uproariously to come to terms with double projection. A very pleasant dinner at The Golden Pheasant, Glyn Ceiriog followed.

Dillwyn Evans

Fig. 4  Programme and signatures at the inaugural meeting, 1987

The annual meetings thereafter alternated between north and south and over the years nearly every orthopaedic centre in Wales has been visited. The earlier afternoon meetings were largely case presentations and words of wisdom from senior figures, preceded by a morning meeting of the Welsh Advisory Sub-Committee but as the Society developed it became an all-day event and a forum for poster and podium presentations by trainees.

After the initial couple of meetings it was evident that a President was needed and there was none better than Rowland Hughes. His idiosyncratic ways, humour and commitment were a perfect combination for the role. Moreover, he took to heart the future of The Society in terms of history and heritage. He generously created a coat–of-arms and commissioned the Presidential Medal which he presented to the Society at his induction at Cardiff in 1990 (Fig. 5).

Dillwyn Evans

Fig. 5.  Rowland Hughes installed as President at Cardiff in1990.

With him is Peris Edwards (Abergavenny),  a stalwart of WOS and responsible for many early photographs

An early and popular move was to hold at reasonable intervals a three-day Pan-Celtic Meeting involving the Irish and Scottish orthopaedic surgeons. The first was in Portmeirion in 1991 and others have taken place at Killarney (twice), Celtic Manor, Turnberry and The Vale in Glamorgan.. The common denominator for these meetings is a mixture of scientific presentations, educational visits and conviviality, all underpinned by strong support from the orthopaedic industry.

The continuity of The Society depends on its Secretary and we have been fortunate to have a succession of keen and committed incumbents. I was Secretary during the early years between 1987 and 1995, with meetings at Oswestry, Swansea, Aberystwyth, Cardiff, Portmeirion, Newport, Killarney, Llangollen and Carmarthen. I was succeeded by John Black (Carmarthen), followed in turn by Nigel Clay (Rhyl), Neil Price (Swansea) and currently Owain Ennis (Camarthen).

The tenure of the Presidency was not clarified for several years, not least because Rowland was such an involved and enthusiastic incumbent. However, when the time came for him to step down, it was agreed that future Presidents should hold office for two years, beginning with Robert Owen, who was installed at Carmarthen in 1995.

There has been extensive discussion on whether WOS should have a written constitution, which was formally adopted in 2022.

Officers Of The Society




1987 - 1994


D. Jones

1987 - 1994


J. Black

1997- 1998

Robert Owen

J. Black

1999 - 2001

David Jones

J. Black

2001 - 2003

Malcolm Downes

N. Clay

2003 - 2005

Gwyn Evans

N. Clay

2005 - 2007

Robert Leyshon

N. Clay

2007 - 2009

John Black

N. Price

2009 - 2011

Judy Murray

N. Price

2011 - 2013

Nigel Clay


2013 - 2015

Tim James

O. Ennis

2015 - 2017

Amit Sinha

O. Ennis

2017 - 2019

Neil Price

O. Ennis

2019 - 2022

Aeneas O'Kelly

O. Ennis

2022 -

Phillip Alderman

O. Ennis

The more recent Annual Scientific meeting were held as follows:




PanCeltic, Seamill Hydro, Ardrossan


National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth


Tre-Ysgawen Hotel Llangefni (Bangor)


Princess Of Wales Bridgend


PanCeltic, Killarney


Royal Glamorgan Hospital


Nevill Hall, Abergavenny


Venue Cymru, Llandudno


Halliwell Centre, St Davids University


PanCeltic - Vale Hotel


Morriston Hospital, Swansea


Lyon Quays hotel, Oswestry


Llechwen Hall Hotel, Llanfabon


Wolfscastle Hotel, Pembrokshire


No Meeting COVID Pandemic


Ysbyty Gwynedd, Bangor


Coldra Court Hotel, Newport

Tips and Tricks Skills in Trauma Orthopaedic Surgery One Day Course

24th November 2023

NCSOS Project

The NCSOS project was commissioned by the Welsh Orthopaedic Board on behalf of then NHS chief executive Mr Andrew Goodall and commenced its work in September 2021.

NCSOS Report 1-3 Blueprint - Read More

NCSOS Report 4 - Read More